The original steelworks in Esch-Schifflange were founded by the Metz family in 1871 as the “Usine Metz” and by the end of 1873 four blast furnaces had been installed on the site. In 1911 the “Usine Metz” became part of ARBED (Acieries Reunies Burbach-Eich-Dudelange). In 1913 the first wire rod mill was installed and in 1925 the three steelworks Esch-Belval, Terre-Rouge and Esch-Schifflange were connected by a gas pipeline. The first rolling mill was constructed in 1963 and in 1980 the steelwork was converted to the continuous casting of blooms. The first electric blast furnace was installed in the 1990s. In 1994 ARBED Esch-Schifflange merged with the Belgian company “Metallurgie et Miniere de Rodange-Athus” (MMRA) to form the “Acieries Rodange Esch-Schifflange” (ARES). In 2002, the site became part of the Arcelor group which consisted of ARBED and the steel-producing companies Arcalia from Spain and Usinor from France. In 2006 Arcelor was taken over by Mittal Steel to form ArcelorMittal and the site closed down in 2013 due to downturn in the economy.